Match the correct German verb to the sentences, Form the German simple past and participle II form. . My classes are developed for each student according to their level, interests and needs. I can also speak fluently English, Czech, Italian, French, and German. I have already gained more than 300 hours of experience in adult education through internships. I have been teaching foreign languages since 1994. Exercise for combining German prepositions with articles! Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. “er/sie/es habe / sei / müsse / komme”. Unlike most German verbs, the highly irregular verb sein (to be) has a distinct Subjunctive I form that differs from the present tense indicative in all persons. After a few years I got my University degree. The subjunctive 1 is used for indirect speech and indicated by conjugating the verb in a specific way. Decide which gender the following German nouns have! Then put your knowledge to the test in the exercises. In the first example, the subjunctive I meaning is successfully conveyed by the clarity in the English sentence that the “are” claim is only according to the journal. Note that sein takes no ending in the first and third person singular. After that, we will dedicate our attention to the conjugation of the German subjunctive 1. The forms of the verb in the subjunctive are as follows (using the weak verb reisen (to travel) as our example): Note: This only differs from the indicative mood in the second person singular and plural (-est and –et instead of –st and –t) and the third person singular (-e instead of –t). In German the subjunctive is called the Konjunktiv and there are two of them. It then adds the same endings as does the general subjunctive (Konjunktiv II): ich mache/ habe/ fahre/ sehe wir machen/ haben/ fahren/ sehen Note that sein takes no ending in the first and third person singular. Fill in the blanks exercise in German indefinite adjectives. I am a qualified teacher an