When I grow up, I want to be a civil engineer, and my parents are so proud of me. It contains a subject and a verb, “you saw.” However, it cannot stand alone as a complete thought. A subordinating conjunction is a word used to combine ideas together and show the relationship shared between these ideas. Glamor or Glamour – What’s the Difference? Example: I graduated last year. Dependent Clauses contain a subject and a predicate, but they do not express a complete thought. Students loved Ms. Dominguez as a result of her newfound character. The professor reviewed the instructions before he passed out the exam questionnaire. Everyone laughed when Josie got pie smashed right on top of her head. Sammy will try out for the school’s volleyball varsity team. A complex sentence is usually comprised of an independent clause along with one or more subordinate clauses. By using a semicolon followed by a conjunctive adverb: You may also check out parallel sentences — structure and examples. ; A dependent clause (one that is usually a supporting part of a sentence). Relative clauses might be recognized by the relative pronoun that which is often excluded. Chance brought the red cups; Klein brought the beer and liquor. We will review the lesson on Friday, and the exam will be next Wednesday. Think about all the different ways you communicate throughout the day. Adjective Clause: Examples and Definition, Examples of Adjective Clauses in English Grammar, Adjective Clause Examples - Softschools.com, 9+ Adjective Clause Examples - PDF | Examples, Adjective Clause Explained with Examples Sentences. Avery is going to her mom’s house in Salt Lake City; she intends to stay there all summer. The clause may modify a verb, an adjective, or another adverb by indicating when, where, why, how, how much, and under what condition was the action performed. 2. Knowing this difference will help us avoid sentence fragments, which can be one of the major errors in writing. You may also check out period